Catching On In Seattle

In the possible chaos that is the Seattle Mariners catching department with Olivo and Gimenez hurt/hurting, I did some quick research. Josh Bard is already included on the list, but possibly Jose Yepez (no, not Lopez) could be the newest edition. There have been a total of 55 catchers in the history of the franchise. More often than not, the team will only carry two catchers, and maybe a certain tandem sticks together for what seems forever (think Dan Wilson/John Marzano, Dan Wilson/Tom Lampkin).

But during this research, I found one story I had to pass along. On October 1, 1978, Kevin Pasley was batting 9th for the lowly 2nd-year franchise. The Kingdome had less than 6,000 fans in attendance. It was October. It was football season. I think that team from Montlake was good at the time, or something like that. (Insert: Don’t care enough to look, haha.) Well I can guarantee you this, Kevin Pasley remembers the game well.

He hit his first and only home run of his big league career off of Texas Rangers pitcher (future Hall of Famer) Fergie Jenkins in what turned out to be his final official at-bat in professional baseball.

That’s pretty dang cool. Oh, and here’s the list of every Seattle Mariners catcher:


Seattle Mariners Catchers (1977-2011)
Player Name (Time Spent in MLB)

Eliezer Alfonzo (2006-2010)

Josh Bard (2002-2010)
Pat Borders (1988-2005)
Scott Bradley (1984-1992)
Terry Bulling (1977-1983)
Jamie Burke (2001-2010) With M’s (07-09): 111 games, .256 AVG, 3 HR, 21 RBI

Raul Chavez (1996-2009)
Jeff Clement (2007-2010)
Larry Cox (1973-1982)

Ben Davis (1998-2004) With M’s: 174 games, .237 AVG, 13 HR, 87 RBI

Jim Essian (1973-1984)

Dan Firova (1981-1988)
Ray Fosse (1967-1979)

Chris Gimenez (2009-2011)
Wiki Gonzalez (1999-2006)
Brad Gulden (1978-1986)

Bill Haselman (1990-2003) With M’s (92-94): 104 games, .234 AVG, 6 HR, 24 RBI (624!)
Bert Heffernan (1992-1992)
Marc Hill (1973-1986)
Chris Howard (1991-1994)

Kenji Johjima (2006-2009) With M’s (06-09): 462 games, .268 AVG, 48 HR, 198 RBI
Rob Johnson (2007-2011)
Skip Jutze (1972-1977)

Bob Kearney (1979-1987)
Chad Kreuter (1988-2003)

Tom Lampkin (1988-2002)

Robert Machado (1996-2004)
John Marzano (1987-1998)
Bill McGuire (1988-1989)
Orlando Mercado (1982-1990)
Adam Moore (2009-2011)

Bill Nahorodny (1976-1984)
Jerry Narron (1979-1987)
Jamie Nelson (1983-1983)

Miguel Ojeda (2003-2006)
Joe Oliver (1989-2001)
Miguel Olivo (2002-2011)

Lance Parrish (1977-1995)
Kevin Pasley (1974-1978)
Bill Plummer (1968-1978)

Guillermo Quiroz (2004-2010)

John Rabb (1982-1988)
Rene Rivera (2004-2011)

Mackey Sasser (1987-1995)
Donnie Scott (1983-1991)
Matt Sinatro (1981-1992)
Bob Stinson (1969-1980)
Rick Sweet (1978-1983)

Yorvit Torrealba (2001-2011)

Dave Valle (1984-1996) With M’s (84-93): 846 games, .235 AVG, 72 HR, 318 RBI
Chris Widger (1995-2006)
Rick Wilkins (1991-2001)
Jerry Willard (1984-1994)Dan Wilson (1992-2005) With M’s (94-05): 1251 games, .262 AVG, 88 HR, 508 RBI

Steve Yeager (1972-1986)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s