Gone But Never Forgotten: Dave Niehaus

One year ago today, the city of Seattle lost its most iconic sports figure of all-time.  The voice of the Seattle Mariners Dave Niehaus passed away from a heart attack.  The city was left with a giant hole in its stomach.  His passing completely gutted me that day and it still does now.  The man may be gone but he can never ever be replaced.

For me, Dave Niehaus was a huge part of growing up.  He was like family.  Or a friend I knew I could rely upon.  I knew where to find him when I needed him.

I grew up in North Seattle (now commonly known as Shoreline, WA) and was roughly a 10-15 drive away from The Kingdome.  My dad would take my brother and I to as many games as possible in those early adolescent years.  But when we weren’t at the games, we had Dave on the radio.

Like many other Seattlites, I too can recall summer afternoons with Dave’s voice blaring through a transistor radio; “Lowwwwwww and outside, 2 and 2.”  Before the glitz and glam of nearly every game being on TV, Dave was your source of all things Mariners.  His opinions were taken as facts.  His agreements became the way of thinking.  His passion… became yours.

I miss Dave Niehaus.  In death, we reflect back on the impact one has had on lives.  Dave struck a chord with so many people, his voice and mystique will live on for generations.  If I ever have children, I will do my best to inform them on what Dave Niehaus meant to the team, the city and what he meant to me.

I sit here on the 1-year anniversary of his unfortunate passing and the same level of emptiness resonates in my baseball soul.  As I discussed in my last post, the Mariners are in a playoff rut; a World Series rut. But when that day finally comes, I’ll think of Dave Niehaus and how much he dreamed of the chance to call a World Series game for the team he was with since Day 1.

“The stretch… and the 0-1 pitch on the way to Edgar Martínez swung on and LINED DOWN THE LEFT FIELD LINE FOR A BASE HIT!

HERE COMES JOEY, HERE IS JUNIOR TO THIRD BASE, THEY’RE GOING TO WAVE HIM IN!

THE THROW TO THE PLATE WILL BE … LATE!  THE MARINERS ARE GOING TO PLAY FOR THE AMERICAN LEAGUE CHAMPIONSHIP!

 I DON’T BELIEVE IT!  IT JUST CONTINUES! MY, OH MY!”

                                                                  – Dave Niehaus, Game 5 of the 1995 ALDS vs NYY

We all miss the great Dave Niehaus.  The Mariners have honored him in incredible ways and his legacy will live on forever.

R.I.P. Dave

Macklemore and Ryan Lewis – “My Oh My”

2 comments on “Gone But Never Forgotten: Dave Niehaus

  1. About thirty years ago when my boys were small we were camped at Pearygin Lake SP just outside of Winthrop. As dusk settled over the campground and we settled into our sleeping bags in the old Coleman tent, suddenly from across the campground someone turned up his radio as Dave called a home run by one of the Mariners. He just had to share the moment…………and that is my favorite all time Dave moment. It was perfect. Us. in our tent, and Dave on the radio. My thanks to the unknown fan who shared that moment with us.

Leave a Reply

